HeidelbergCement's Supervisory Board

According to the Articles of Association, the Supervisory Board of HeidelbergCement AG consists of twelve members. Half of the members shall be elected by the Annual General Meeting according to the provisions of the German Stock Company Act and half by the employees according to the provisions of the German Codetermination Law. 

Fritz-Jürgen Heckmann, Chairman

  • Stuttgart
  • Business Lawyer
  • Member since 8 May 2003
  • Chairman since 1 February 2005

Heinz Schmitt*, Deputy Chairman

  • Heidelberg

  • Chairman of the Council of Employees at the headquarters, HeidelbergCement AG
  • Member since 6 May 2004
  • Deputy Chairman since 7 May 2009
CV Heinz Schmitt (PDF, 8.88 KB)

Josef Heumann*

  • Burglengenfeld

  • Chairman of the Council of Employees at the Burglengenfeld plant, HeidelbergCement AG
  • Member since 6 May 2004
CV Josef Heumann (PDF, 8.96 KB)

Gabriele Kailing*

  • Frankfurt

  • Chairwoman of DGB District of Hesse-Thuringia
  • Member since 7 May 2014
CV Gabriele Kailing (PDF, 12.6 KB)

Ludwig Merckle

  • Ulm

  • Managing Director, Merckle Service GmbH
  • Member since 2 June 1999
CV Ludwig Merckle (PDF, 13.99 KB)

Tobias Merckle

  • Leonberg

  • Managing Director of the association Seehaus e.V.
  • Member since 23 May 2006
CV Tobias Merckle (PDF, 42.54 KB)

Dr. Jürgen M. Schneider

  • Mannheim

  • former Chief Financial Officer of Bilfinger Berger AG and former Dean of the Business School of the University of Mannheim
  • Member since 7 May 2014
CV Jürgen M. Schneider (PDF, 15.78 KB)

Werner Schraeder*

  • Ennigerloh

  • Chairman of the European Council of Employees, Deputy Chairman of the Group Council of Employees, Chairman of the General Council of Employees, and Chairman of the Council of Employees at the Ennigerloh plant, HeidelbergCement AG
  • Member since 7 May 2009
CV Werner Schraeder (PDF, 11.57 KB)

Frank-Dirk Steininger*

  • Frankfurt

  • Specialist in employment law for the Federal Executive Committee, IG Bauen-Agrar-Umwelt
  • Member since 11 June 2008

Margret Suckale

  • Hamburg

  • former member of the Board of Executive Directors of BASF SE
  • Member since 25 August 2017
CV Margret Suckale (PDF, 13.41 KB)

Stephan Wehning*

  • Schelklingen

  • Attorney in Fact and Director with operational responsibility of the Schelklingen plant, HeidelbergCement AG
  • Member since 1 August 2016
CV Stephan Wehning (PDF, 12.05 KB)

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Marion Weissenberger-Eibl

  • Karlsruhe

  • Head of the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI, Karlsruhe; she also holds the Chair of Innovation and Technology Management (iTM) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • Member since 3 July 2012

* elected by the employees

Chairman of the Supervisory Board Fritz-Jürgen Heckmann
Fritz-Jürgen Heckmann, Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Personnel Committee

  • Ludwig Merckle (Chairman)
  • Fritz-Jürgen Heckmann
  • Josef Heumann
  • Heinz Schmitt
  • Margret Suckale
  • Stephan Wehning

Audit Committee

  • Ludwig Merckle (Chairman)
  • Fritz-Jürgen Heckmann
  • Heinz Schmitt
  • Dr. Jürgen M. Schneider
  • Werner Schraeder
  • Frank-Dirk Steininger

Nomination Committee

  • Fritz-Jürgen Heckmann (Chairman)
  • Ludwig Merckle
  • Tobias Merckle

Arbitration Committee

  • Fritz-Jürgen Heckmann (Chairman)
  • Tobias Merckle
  • Heinz Schmitt
  • Stephan Wehning