Link to local website: HeidelbergCement in Norway

Links to our subsidiaries

HeidelbergCement acquired its subsidiaries in Norway in 1999, and is the country’s market leader in the cement and concrete business. The Norwegian companies produce cement, ready-mixed concrete, aggregates, prefabricated concrete and alternative fuels.

Our subsidiary Norcem is the only cement producer in Norway with plants in Brevik in southern Norway and Kjøpsvik in the northern part. A network of terminals along the coast ensures a strong market position. Almost all cement is transported from the plants by ship. Consumption of cement has remained high in recent years. Our cement production is characterised by a high proportion of alternative fuels – household and industrial waste, including hazardous waste, are primary sources of alternative fuels. Our plants are specialised in transforming hazardous waste into fuel.

Ready-mixed concrete plants are located in all major towns and regions in the southern part of Norway. This business line has experienced steady growth in past years.

Our aggregates companies are located mainly on the south-west coast, in addition to a few locations in eastern Norway. A high percentage of aggregates are shipped by boat from our quarries. Besides the domestic consumption, our quarries deliver to the offshore sector where ballast is used to cover or prepare underwater installations and pipelines. Aggregates are also exported to countries mainly in the North Sea basin and the Baltics.

Our precast concrete business in Norway is newly established since we merged our precast activities in Abetong, which has been a part of HeidelbergCement since 1999, and Contiga into Nordic Precast Group 2015, in which we own 60%.

Number of Plants

Cement terminals31
Ready-mixed concrete40
Concrete products7

(As of 2016)

Northern and Eastern Europe-Central Asia

Albania                         Iceland
Baltic States                  Kazakhstan
Bosnia-Herzegovina      Norway
Bulgaria                        Poland
Croatia                         Romania
Czechia                        Russia
Denmark                      Slovakia
Georgia                        Sweden
Greece                         Ukraine