Our subsidiaries:

Having entered India in 2006, HeidelbergCement has consistently pursued its strategy of growth in fast growing markets. In 2006, the HeidelbergCement Group acquired majority stakes in Mysore Cements, Cochin Cements, as well as the Indorama Cement joint venture, which was converted to a full acquisition in 2008. Following the merger with Indorama Cement, Mysore Cements was renamed HeidelbergCement India Ltd. (HCIL) in 2009.

In India, HeidelbergCement has production facilities at Damoh (State of Madhya Pradesh), Jhansi (State of Uttar Pradesh), Ammasandra (State of Karnataka), and Cochin (State of Kerala), and markets its products under the brand name Mycem across all regions.

The acquisition of Italcementi in the second half of 2016 further strengthened HeidelbergCement’s presence in India. Italcementi entered the Indian market in January 2001, through the acquisition of Zuari Cement. The Yerraguntla plant is located in Kadapa in the southern part of Andhra Pradesh State. This investment was initially made through a 50/50 joint-venture with the KK Birla Group; in May 2006, Italcementi acquired the full control of the company. In January 2002, Zuari Cement took over another company, Sri Vishnu (SVCL), situated in Sitapuram, in the northern part of Andhra Pradesh State, near the capital Hyderabad. In March 2010, a second production line was inaugurated in Yerraguntla.

To serve the local markets of Chennai, the company has built a grinding plant at Chennai with a capacity of 1 million tonnes. Commissioned in May 2011, the grinding plant receives the clinker from the Yerraguntla plant.

The Group started some expansion projects: besides the study of a new cement plant with a production capacity of 3 million tonnes per year in Gulbarga, in the Karnataka region, it is working at the construction of a grinding plant in Sholapur (Maharashtra) and of a maritime terminal in Cochin (Kerala) with a capacity of 1 million tonnes and 0.6 million tonnes, respectively.

Number of Plants

Grinding plant4
Cement terminals1

(As of 2016)


Australia                  Indonesia
Bangladesh              Malaysia
Brunei                      Singapore
China                       Sri Lanka
India                        Thailand