Link to local website: HeidelbergCement in Hungary

HeidelbergCement entered the Hungarian cement market in 1989. Since then it has become a dominant player in cement, ready-mixed concrete, and aggregates production. Operations are led by Duna-Dráva Cement Kft. – a joint venture with SCHWENK Zement KG. As of today, Duna-Dráva Cement Kft. (DDC) is one of the country’s leading building materials producer.

DDC operates two cement plants – Vác and Beremend – which produce various types of cement. Located along the river Danube, north of the Hungarian capital Budapest, the Vác plant is distinguished by the superior quality of its limestone resources, which have been rated the purest in the country. In 2013, the Vác plant celebrated its 50th anniversary. Located in southern Hungary, the Beremend plant has over a century of tradition. HeidelbergCement has invested significantly in the modernization, improvement, and environmental protection of both plants. In the mid-90s, a new kiln technology was introduced to the Vác plant, representing the highest technical standards in Hungary. In 2009, the modernization of clinker production at the Beremend plant was completed, thereby raising the BAT level of the Hungarian cement industry. Beremend’s capacity was significantly expanded by this investment, which also improved the plant’s competitiveness by increasing the alternative fuels substitution rate.

After several years of preparation and increased organisational integration, the fully owned ready-mixed concrete and aggregates subsidiary companies of Duna-Dráva Cement Kft. merged into the parent company. Since 1 October 2013, they have continued their activities under the name of DDC – with their operations now running even more efficiently.

Number of Plants

Cement plants2
Ready-mixed concrete24

(Stand 2016)

Northern and Eastern Europe-Central Asia

Albania                         Iceland
Baltic States                  Kazakhstan
Bosnia-Herzegovina      Norway
Bulgaria                        Poland
Croatia                         Romania
Czechia                        Russia
Denmark                      Slovakia
Georgia                        Sweden
Greece                         Ukraine